What about Santa? … a seven year old asks questions…

What about Santa? What do you tell your kids about him? Do you think we are “lying to our children” if we say he is real? My son asked me why Santa doesn’t give presents to kids whose families have no money? How would you handle such a question? And what are the origins of the “dude in red and white” anyway? All this and more in this article by Kirsteen McLay-Knopp.

The Forever Years

Chimney Check FYBy Kirsteen McLay-Knopp

“What about Santa?” my seven year old son asks me.

“What do you mean?” I reply.

“I mean, what about Santa?  There are all these poor kids in the world with no toys and Santa’s supposed to give presents to everyone.  Why doesn’t Santa just come along and give them all stuff?  They haven’t all been naughty have they?”

He’s a serious wee guy, this second son of mine, with a really good heart for helping those less fortunate than himself.  What to say?  I reassure him that no, the children in poorer parts of the world (and those whose families are struggling here in our own country) haven’t all been naughty.  At the same time, I think to myself that not every child who receives an expensive present has been consistently “good”.  I manage to mumble some stuff about Santa being very busy and having…

View original post 1,492 more words

Leave a Reply

