‘Heart Matters in Early Motherhood’ – the Big Book-Blog Tour #HMinEM

Heart Matters big book-blog tour

Sarah Wilson is taking her new book ‘Heart Matters in Early Motherhood’ on a little worldwide tour (albeit a virtual one!). This book is going to be available on Amazon and at Barnes & Noble in a matter of weeks. A great stocking stuffer for anyone in this season of life. If you are in Dunedin, Sarah will have copies that you can purchase directly from her. Email:bookorders@wilsontribe.net. Read more here:

Well we are still waiting to move to England. In fact I’m itching to get on that plane (even though I will dearly miss the wonderful friends and family that we leave behind). Meanwhile, my book is about to embark on a little worldwide book-blog tour, albeit a virtual tour. This month I’m privileged to have several wonderful blogs hosting my new book. I’m excited to release my book, but I’m also really honoured to be donating the royalties earned from book sales to the non-profit organisation A21. Abolishing human trafficking is a cause dear to my heart, and A21 are passionate about abolishing slavery in the 21st century by working together. A21 states that:

‘Human trafficking fuels the growth of organized crime, undermining health, safety, security, and the basic needs of humanity. It is the fastest growing crime in the world.’ By purchasing a copy of my book you will be helping in a small way to free those men, women and children bound in slavery. (See: http://www.A21.com).

A21 banner

Here is a sneak preview of the ‘Big Blog-Book Tour 2015.’ 

I decided to write this book, not because motherhood has been a breeze for me, but because it hasn’t been. In fact, this book has been borne out of my struggles, rather than my successes. These struggles are common to most mothers, yet they remain unarticulated. A conspiracy of silence seems to exist around motherhood, yet the well-being of mothers is worth talking about.’

Many who have experienced early motherhood might agree that it is a life-changing rollercoaster journey full of highs and lows. Hang on tight and enjoy the ride! It can be enjoyable, exhilarating, exhausting and terrifying. Early motherhood can be a deeply fulfilling experience, yet it can also be a testing time for many women. Motherhood is achingly beautiful, yet it can also bring pain and heartache. Heart Matters in Early Motherhood is an honest look at the joys and challenges of early motherhood from a Christian perspective. It’s a motherhood myth-buster, melding psychological research with spiritual nourishment. This book is about getting to the heart issues of motherhood. The heart is the seat of who we are. Yet many heart issues can arise when we become mothers. ‘Heart Matters in Early Motherhood’ discusses how we can recognise and process the emotions that surface, and how we can be encouraged that we are not alone in this season of life. In this book I also offer clear-eyed elements of my story and the stories of other mothers, including the scrapes and bruises we have acquired on our journey through early motherhood.

coffeeandbook

Why another book on motherhood? Well there seem to be many pressures on families today. New mothers have to navigate a minefield of conflicting advice and often parent without close support networks around. Consequently, mothers of young children sometimes feel unable to trust their instincts.   This book offers hope and healing to mothers of young children who have overwhelmed hearts – those, like me, who have sometimes felt alone, fearful,  discouraged, or just plain weary in their journey through early motherhood. This book discusses what it is like to be a mother of young children today, and encourages mothers to trust in God’s abundant grace, developing confidence as they parent their little ones. Each chapter invites the reader into important discussions, from the pressures and expectations that mothers grapple with, to mess, miscarriage, marriage, and postnatal depression. This book aims to minister to the hearts of all mothers, whether they are married or parenting alone, staying at home or going out to work. A must-read for any mother immersed in the terrific yet testing time of raising little ones, and for anyone who wishes to thrive rather than just survive in the trenches.

Heart Matters fb cover

What others are saying about ‘Heart Matters in Early Motherhood’

‘Each chapter is a breath of fresh air.’

Trina Pockett, Author of Unexpected: Grit, Grace and Life “In Between.’

‘Sarah presents an encouraging, balanced study on what it means to be a mother today, and it is an excellent companion in the challenging years that accompany mothers of young children.’ Mary Crosson, Children’s Author, Midwife, Pastor’s Wife and Mother of three.

‘Sarah writes with transparency, insight and encouragement of her early parenting experiences. She offers a frank and supportive message to parents and a word to the Church about it’s role in caring for today’s family’. Robyn Appleton, Children’s Pastor, Nurse and Mother of three and Grandmother of three.

Q’s & A’s:

Q: Why did I write the book?

A: When I had my first child 8 and a half years ago, I longed for a book that put into words what I was feeling and experiencing. Of course I loved motherhood, and it was amazing, but it was also much harder than I ever imagined it would be. It was a steep learning curve! While there are many other great books on motherhood out there, I decided to write my story and listen to the stories of others, to create the book that I needed to read in my early years of motherhood.

Q: Who is the book for?

A: Anyone in the trenches of early motherhood. If you are a Mum that has it all together, then you don’t need to read this book! But if you have ever felt weary, struggling, or in need of encouragement (isn’t that most of us?) then it is my hope that this book would be a balm for your soul.

Q: How would you sum up this book in one sentence?

A: This book aims to encourage the heart of mothers in the early years.

Q: What was the hardest part to write?

A: Being vulnerable hasn’t come easily to this private person. Sharing my heart in the pages of this book has been a brave step for me.

Q: How do you find time to write a book when you are a mother?

A: I’ve squeezed in writing in the small pockets of time that I have available – when the children are at school & kindergarten, and late into the night.

What is your next book going to be?

My next book is going to be about ‘Restoring Hope in Depression’.

‘Heart Matters in Early Motherhood’ will be available in paperback and ebook from the publisher and through Amazon, Barnes & Noble and ‘The Book Depository. It will eventually be available in bookstores. If you are local, I am going to host a ‘Bubbles & Book’ evening in late November (date tba) and there will be copies available there too. If you would like to come please let me know, I’d love to see you. And if you are a blogger that would like to host me on the Big Blog-Book Tour, then please get in touch with me on the blog or by email (above).

Many thanks,

signature

Leave a Reply

