Two Parents Hope To End Child Sexual Abuse With A Storybook, by Madeline Muir

authors

Parents Kate and Rod Power are aiming to end child sexual abuse through educating kids about the dangers with a storybook.

“I’ve been a police officer for 15 years and have seen some terrible things involving kids,” Kate told the ABC.

“When I had my own three kids I thought being a police officer I knew enough to protect them but then a few things happened in my own community really close to my kids that made me realise I was wrong.

“I can’t protect my kids, they’re vulnerable, I need to teach them and let them protect their private parts if need be.”

Kate and Rod Power are trying to end child sexual abuse by safeguarding their children (and hopefully others) against sexual abuse, by educating them about protecting their private parts.

“I started thinking about what I remembered from my childhood and the thing that stuck the most was nursery rhymes so that’s how we came up with the idea to do the rule as a rhyming book so kids can engage with it and pick it up really quickly,” Rod told the ABC.

They came up with the idea of a child-friendly storybook called My Underpants Rule, to teach kids from four to eight that they have control.

(Read more and watch a fun video at the following link…)

http://www.kiis1065.com.au/entertainment/the-feed/two-parents-hope-to-end-child-sexual-abuse-with-a-storybook/

Leave a Reply

