Help, My Toddler Can’t Play Without Me! By Janet Lansbury

timthumb.php FY

“The inability to play independently inevitably increases the child’s sense of dependence on the adult. Conversely, independent activity allows him to experience autonomy.”  – Éva Kálló and Györgyi Balog, The Origins of Free Play

I often hear from parents concerned about their child’s inability to play alone. They perceive their child as either extra-needy, too “attached” or too social, or just not the type to ever play independently.

I don’t buy any of it.

In the 20 years I’ve been working with parents and their infants and toddlers, I have yet to meet a child incapable of reaping the joys and benefits of self-directed play. I’ve noticed that problems with play are primarily ours, not our children’s. And that’s good news, because it means it’s also in our power to remedy the issue.

 

(To read more, follow the link below…)

http://www.janetlansbury.com/2015/04/help-my-toddler-cant-play-without-me/

Leave a Reply

