Mindful, Resilient and Focused Learners, by Jayneen Sanders

 

Jayneen's FY

As a mother of three teenage daughters and an experienced elementary school teacher, I am deeply concerned about our kids. Let me explain. Children today live in a world filled with technology — ipad interaction from birth, social media from pre-teens and access to everything and anything on the Internet from a very young age. Don’t get me wrong, as a teacher I know technology can be an amazing tool for learning. Extraordinary really. What does deeply trouble me, is the negative aspect of child/learner interaction with technology.

I have come back to teaching after four years away. What I found on my return, was many children (dare I say the boys) had a much lower attention span than I had previously experienced in my teaching practice. Where once I had five- and six-year-olds listening and focused for 15 minutes, they were now only engaged for around five minutes. After that period of time, eyes started to roam, feet began to fidget and turning around seem a more entertaining thing to do!

In a time of technology overload, and on-line and off-line societal pressures, I have come to the conclusion that we need to formally teach our children the following:

1. To be mindful of others and of themselves. That is, to show respect and empathy towards others, and to show respect and empathy towards themselves.

2. To be resilient. That is, we need children to feel confident about themselves and to be able to accept disappointment and even rejection without loosing a sense of self. The teaching of…

(Read more by following this link…)

http://somesecrets.info/blog/2014/3/13/mindful-resilient-and-focused-learners

Leave a Reply

